NestyFinds

Levoit Core Mini-P

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Levoit Core Mini-P
53 ft² CADR 34 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified 25–44 dB

AHAM Verifide at 34 cfm smoke and sized at 53 sq ft — against a 254 sq ft figure on the box. The gap between those two numbers is the widest in this catalogue, and both are Levoit's.

Pros

  • Independently measured rather than self-declared: AHAM Verifide at 39 dust and 34 smoke, with a 53 sq ft room size that reconciles with AHAM's own formula.
  • Levoit publishes both the 1 ACH and the 4.8 ACH room sizes rather than only the larger one, which is what makes the gap checkable at all.
  • AHAM measured 6.8 operating watts against Levoit's stated 7 W. Manufacturer and laboratory agreeing that closely is unusual, and 7 W is the lowest figure in this catalogue — less than half the next one.
  • CARB lists it Mechanical and Levoit describes it as ozone free — an independent classification and a manufacturer claim pointing the same way.
  • A 25 dB floor and a 44 dB ceiling. Not the lowest floor here — three models in this catalogue state 22 dB — but its 44 dB maximum is below the 46 dB the Medify MA-40 states as its minimum.
  • At 2.2 lb it is genuinely portable, and AHAM's directory links to the same replacement-filter listing we had verified independently.

Cons

  • ⚠️ 53 sq ft is the honest number and 254 sq ft is the one you will see first. Nearly a factor of five sits between them, and both are Levoit's own.
  • ⚠️ TWO DIFFERENT MACHINES SHARE THIS NAME. AHAM lists both the LAP-C161 and the LAP-C171 as "Core Mini", with identical dust, smoke and room-size figures but pollen CADR of 44 and 61 respectively. The model code on the unit is what tells you which one you have.
  • ⚠️ The filter follows the same split. Levoit sells a Core Mini filter and a Core Mini-P filter as separate products, and its compatibility wording says "series" while it sells by model.
  • No replacement interval is published — not on the purifier's page and not on the filter's. Levoit's general maintenance article is the only figure it offers, and that is about its range rather than this model.
  • No app, no Wi-Fi and no sensor. The fan speed is whatever you last set it to, so it cannot respond to a change in the room.
  • The aroma pad adds fragrance to air the machine is cleaning, and it ships installed rather than as something you opt into. Levoit does not state on the product page whether it can be removed.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims, and this model is fully AHAM Verifide with a room size that reconciles and a power draw the laboratory confirms. CARB classifies it Mechanical. Marked down for a headline room size nearly five times the comparable figure, for a marketing name that covers two machines with different measured pollen performance and different filters, for the absence of any published replacement interval on either page, and for having no sensor or auto mode at all.

Verdict

Judged as what it is — a 53 sq ft machine — the Core Mini-P is honest and well documented. AHAM measures it at 34 cfm smoke, Levoit states the same 34, and the 53 sq ft room size reconciles from both directions. It draws about 7 W, which AHAM's own measurement confirms, and it sits at 25 dB on its lowest setting. CARB classifies it Mechanical and Levoit calls it ozone free. Two things will trip you up. The 254 sq ft you see first is the one-air-change figure and is nearly five times the comparable number. And "Core Mini" names two different machines: AHAM lists a LAP-C161 and a LAP-C171 under it, identical except that their measured pollen CADR is 44 and 61. Read the model code on your own unit — it decides which figures apply and which filter to order.

Check current price for the Levoit Core Mini-P on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • A desk, a small home office, a bathroom or a similar space of around 50 sq ft where a full-size unit makes no sense.
  • Anyone who wants the lowest possible power draw and noise floor, and does not need the machine to decide anything for itself.
  • People who want a mechanical-only device confirmed by CARB rather than a manufacturer's word for it.

Who should skip it

  • Any ordinary bedroom or living room. At 4.8 air changes this machine covers 53 sq ft, and most bedrooms are several times that.
  • Anyone who wants app control, a sensor or auto mode. The Core 200S-P adds app and voice control, though Levoit does not list a sensor or an auto mode on that one either; the Vital 100S-P is where an infrared dust sensor and Auto Mode actually appear.
  • Anyone who wants to know the replacement interval before buying, because Levoit does not publish one for this cartridge on either page.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 air changes per hour. AHAM's directory prints 53 sq ft, AHAM's own rule gives 34 x 1.55 = 52.7, and Levoit's specification table prints "254 ft2 (1 ACH) / 53 ft2 (4.8 ACH)" — the same 53. All three agree. What matters is which of Levoit's own two numbers you read: 254 sq ft is the room this machine changes the air in ONCE an hour; 53 sq ft is the room it manages at the 4.8 changes AHAM sizes by. That is a factor of nearly five between two figures on the same page.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Levoit Core Mini-P — documented specifications
Smoke CADR 34 cfm, AHAM Verifide and Levoit's own page states the same 34 CFM
AHAM suggested room size 53 sq ft, equivalent to 4.8 air changes per hour identical for both versions
CARB Certified, device type Mechanical, notified 2021-11-04, executive order G-21-478
Noise 25–44 dB
Power 7 W stated by Levoit; AHAM recorded 6.8 operating watts during its smoke test the two agree closely
Filter life Not stated on either the purifier's page or the filter's page
Replacement filter LRF-C161-WUS and the plain Core Mini takes a different one
The full record: 7 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Dust CADR 39 cfm, AHAM Verifide
Pollen CADR ⚠️ Two different figures under one name: 44 cfm for the LAP-C161 and 61 cfm for the LAP-C171. Check the code on your machine see below
PM2.5 CADR 36 cfm for the LAP-C161, 37 for the LAP-C171
Manufacturer room size 254 sq ft at 1 air change per hour, 53 sq ft at 4.8 Levoit publishes both bases
Dimensions 6.5 x 6.5 x 10.4 in
Weight 2.2 lb
Ozone Described by Levoit as "Ozone Free"; CARB independently classifies the device Mechanical
9 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • ⚠️ WE ARE NOT PUBLISHING A SINGLE POLLEN CADR FOR THIS MODEL, AND THAT IS DELIBERATE. AHAM lists the LAP-C161 at 44 and the LAP-C171 at 61, both under the marketing name "Core Mini". Their dust, smoke and room-size figures are identical, so nothing else distinguishes them on paper. Picking one would have meant guessing which machine a reader owns. The check you can run yourself: read the model code on the unit or its label.
  • THE -P SUFFIX IS UNRESOLVED AND WE ARE SAYING SO. Levoit's current retail page is for the "Core Mini-P", CARB's row for the LAP-C161-WUS says "Core Mini", and AHAM labels both the C161 and the C171 "Core Mini". The internal codes do line up in one respect worth knowing: the machine code LAP-C161-WUS and the filter code LRF-C161-WUS share their family, which is the one place Levoit's naming is consistent on this range.
  • THE AHAM FIGURES HERE COME FROM THE LIVE DIRECTORY, NOT FROM THE PRINTED 2023 EDITION. We checked: the October 2023 printed directory runs the full alphabet across its 30 pages and contains no Levoit rows at all, while the live directory carries 83. Anyone comparing this page against that PDF will not find the model in it, and that absence is not a contradiction.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's own header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT | Meet Ozone Limits", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would have published the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • AHAM DOES NOT POPULATE ITS OZONE-LIMITS COLUMN IN THE LIVE DIRECTORY DATA — the field is empty for all 719 records we read, including models whose printed 2023 row shows "Yes". We therefore make no AHAM ozone statement for this model. The CARB classification above is a separate and independently verified finding.
  • THE STAGE NAMES ARE LEVOIT'S DESCRIPTION OF A 3-STAGE SYSTEM. Its page for this model does not name a filtration grade for the middle stage, so we have not reproduced one in our own voice.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED for this cartridge on either Levoit page. Its general maintenance article gives figures for its filters as a class, which is not the same as a figure for this part.
  • LEVOIT'S PAGE DOES NOT STATE A NUMBER OF FAN SPEEDS, nor whether the aroma pad can be removed. We asked the page both questions directly and it answers neither, so we have not filled either gap from elsewhere.
  • "NO APP OR SENSOR" HERE MEANS LEVOIT DESCRIBES NEITHER. Its page for this model lists a Check Filter Indicator and aromatherapy and nothing else of the kind. We are reporting the absence of a claim, which on this range is a reliable signal — the connected models carry an S in the name — but it is still an absence rather than a denial.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 34 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in53 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes64 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem128 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 51 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

CARB lists it Mechanical and Levoit describes it as "Ozone Free" — two statements that agree, from two sources, one of them independent.

CARB's complete list carries "LEVOIT | Core Mini Air Purifier | LAP-C161-WUS | Mechanical | 2021-11-04 | G-21-478", alongside later rows for the LAP-C171 night-light versions. Mechanical means California's certifier identified no ozone-generating component, so the unit was never subject to the ozone emission test that Electronic devices must pass. There is no ionizer and no UV lamp described on the product page, and no switch for either.

The aroma pad is a different matter and worth naming plainly: it adds scent to air the machine is filtering. Levoit lists it in the box contents as a separate item, "1 x Aroma Pad (Pre-Installed)", but does not state on this page whether it can be taken out.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration 3-stage cartridge, pre-installed Included
Odour reduction Activated carbon layer, part of the same cartridge Included
Aroma pad Shipped pre-installed; Levoit does not state whether it can be removed Included
App, Wi-Fi or voice control Not offered on this model Not offered
Auto mode or sensor Not offered on this model Not offered
Replacement cartridge LRF-C161-WUS, sold separately — confirm against your model code Sold separately
Stated filter interval Not published on either Levoit page Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Levoit Core Mini replacement filter

Part LRF-C161-WUS / UPC 810043375559. / "Core Mini-RF" is the code you will see on retail listings. It is NOT on Levoit's product page, which gives LRF-C161-WUS instead. Both refer to the same cartridge; they are simply printed in different places. · ⚠️ LEVOIT DOES NOT STATE AN INTERVAL on this filter's product page. Checked 14-sep-2026. The figures Levoit publishes for its range live in its maintenance article and are given per stage: main filters "should be changed every 6–12 months" and carbon filters "need replacement every 3–6 months". On this cartridge all three stages are one sealed piece, so the shorter of the two is effectively the clock — the carbon is expected to be spent while the particle stage still has life, and you replace both because they are bonded. No hours-per-day assumption is published behind either figure, so neither can be scaled arithmetically.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 9 notes
  • ⚠️ WE ARE NOT PUBLISHING A SINGLE POLLEN CADR FOR THIS MODEL, AND THAT IS DELIBERATE. AHAM lists the LAP-C161 at 44 and the LAP-C171 at 61, both under the marketing name "Core Mini". Their dust, smoke and room-size figures are identical, so nothing else distinguishes them on paper. Picking one would have meant guessing which machine a reader owns. The check you can run yourself: read the model code on the unit or its label.
  • THE -P SUFFIX IS UNRESOLVED AND WE ARE SAYING SO. Levoit's current retail page is for the "Core Mini-P", CARB's row for the LAP-C161-WUS says "Core Mini", and AHAM labels both the C161 and the C171 "Core Mini". The internal codes do line up in one respect worth knowing: the machine code LAP-C161-WUS and the filter code LRF-C161-WUS share their family, which is the one place Levoit's naming is consistent on this range.
  • THE AHAM FIGURES HERE COME FROM THE LIVE DIRECTORY, NOT FROM THE PRINTED 2023 EDITION. We checked: the October 2023 printed directory runs the full alphabet across its 30 pages and contains no Levoit rows at all, while the live directory carries 83. Anyone comparing this page against that PDF will not find the model in it, and that absence is not a contradiction.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's own header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT | Meet Ozone Limits", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would have published the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • AHAM DOES NOT POPULATE ITS OZONE-LIMITS COLUMN IN THE LIVE DIRECTORY DATA — the field is empty for all 719 records we read, including models whose printed 2023 row shows "Yes". We therefore make no AHAM ozone statement for this model. The CARB classification above is a separate and independently verified finding.
  • THE STAGE NAMES ARE LEVOIT'S DESCRIPTION OF A 3-STAGE SYSTEM. Its page for this model does not name a filtration grade for the middle stage, so we have not reproduced one in our own voice.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED for this cartridge on either Levoit page. Its general maintenance article gives figures for its filters as a class, which is not the same as a figure for this part.
  • LEVOIT'S PAGE DOES NOT STATE A NUMBER OF FAN SPEEDS, nor whether the aroma pad can be removed. We asked the page both questions directly and it answers neither, so we have not filled either gap from elsewhere.
  • "NO APP OR SENSOR" HERE MEANS LEVOIT DESCRIBES NEITHER. Its page for this model lists a Check Filter Indicator and aromatherapy and nothing else of the kind. We are reporting the absence of a claim, which on this range is a reliable signal — the connected models carry an S in the name — but it is still an absence rather than a denial.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews