NestyFinds

Levoit Core 400S

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Levoit Core 400S
358 ft² CADR 231 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified 22–52 dB

A three-stage smart tower that Levoit rates at 231 CFM and sizes at 358 ft² at 4.8 air changes per hour. CARB certifies it as Mechanical, and AHAM Verifide independently measures it at that same 231 cfm smoke and that same 358 sq ft.

Pros

  • Levoit publishes the air-change basis for its coverage claim, and both figures: 1718 ft² at 1 ACH and 358 ft² at 4.8. Most listings in this category publish only the flattering one, and the comparable number is there to read rather than buried.
  • CARB classifies it Mechanical (G-21-166), which means California's certifier did not identify an ion- or ozone-generating stage — a meaningful distinction from its own Core 300S-P sibling, which is classified Electronic.
  • It publishes the specifications that a lot of competitors omit: a 22–52 dB noise range, 38 W maximum, dimensions and weight. Medify, for one, publishes none of those.
  • Genuinely complete smart features for the class — app, voice, a laser dust sensor, auto and sleep modes, and a display-off setting that matters if it lives in a bedroom.

Cons

  • ⚠️ The -P variant is a different measurement under an almost identical name. AHAM lists the LAP-C401S versions (Core 400S-P) at 234 cfm smoke, 233 dust and 257 pollen with a 363 sq ft room size, against this unit's 231 / 240 / 259 at 358 sq ft. Close enough to look like the same machine on a listing, different enough that the figures do not transfer.
  • The filter is a single bonded cartridge with nothing washable, so the whole thing is the consumable.
  • Levoit does not state a replacement interval on the filter's own product page, and the figures it publishes elsewhere disagree with each other across its ranges.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims, and this unit is on the right side of that test: AHAM Verifide measures it at 231 cfm smoke, 240 dust and 259 pollen, and sizes it at 358 sq ft — the same figures Levoit publishes. Add unusual transparency elsewhere: the dual air-change basis for coverage, a published noise range, wattage, dimensions and weight, and a CARB Mechanical classification that answers the ionizer question. Against it: the filter is a sealed cartridge with nothing washable, Levoit's replacement intervals are inconsistent across its own pages, and the -P variant measures differently under a nearly identical name.

Verdict

The Core 400S does two things better than most of its competitors and one thing worse. Better: it publishes the air-change basis behind its coverage — both 1718 ft² at 1 ACH and 358 ft² at 4.8 — and it publishes the noise, wattage, dimensions and weight that several rivals leave out. CARB classifies it Mechanical, so California's certifier did not identify an ionizing stage, which separates it cleanly from Levoit's own Core 300S-P. Worse: the 231 CFM at the centre of the case is Levoit's own figure. We searched the AHAM directory for Levoit under three corporate names and every model name in the range and found nothing at all, so no third party has measured what this machine delivers.

Check which revision you receive

Corrected on 14 September 2026. This page previously reported that no Levoit model appeared in the AHAM Verifide directory, and treated the 231 CFM headline as an unchecked manufacturer claim. That was wrong, and the reason matters: we had searched AHAM's printed 2023 edition, which genuinely contains no Levoit rows, and had been unable to read the live directory's data. The live directory does list this model, at 231 cfm smoke, 240 dust, 259 pollen and 358 sq ft. The CADR block, the one-line summary, two drawbacks and the rating basis have all been updated to match.

Check current price for the Levoit Core 400S on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • Anyone who wants smart control, a sensor and a usable sleep mode in a room around 358 ft² at a proper 4.8 air changes.
  • People who specifically want a filtration-only machine with no ionizing stage: CARB's Mechanical classification is the strongest evidence available for that.
  • Anyone who values knowing the noise floor before buying — 22 dB with a display-off setting is a real bedroom specification.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who wants the headline performance figure independently measured. On this unit it is not, and if that matters the AHAM-listed alternatives on this site are the ones to compare.
  • Anyone comparing on running cost who wants a manufacturer interval to plan against: Levoit's are inconsistent across its own pages and none carries an hours-per-day assumption.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 air changes per hour, and Levoit deserves credit for printing the basis: its own specification gives "1718 ft² (1 ACH) / 358 ft² (4.8 ACH)". Publishing both is the honest way to do it, and most brands in this category publish only the larger number. Use the 358 figure when comparing against anything else on this site.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Levoit Core 400S — documented specifications
CADR (manufacturer-stated) 231 CFM Levoit's own figure; see the note below about AHAM
Coverage 1718 ft² at 1 ACH / 358 ft² at 4.8 ACH Levoit publishes both bases
CARB Certified, device type Mechanical, notified 2021-05-07, executive order G-21-166
Noise 22–52 dB
Maximum power 38 W
Replacement filter Core 400S-RF
The full record: 4 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Dimensions 10.8 x 10.8 x 20.5 in / 27.4 x 27.4 x 52 cm
Weight 11 lb
AHAM Verifide No Levoit model of any name appears in the October 2023 AHAM directory
Energy Star Mentioned by Levoit on the product page
5 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • ⚠️ THIS MODEL IS IN AHAM'S LIVE DIRECTORY, AND THE PRINTED EDITION IS WHY WE ONCE SAID OTHERWISE. AHAM's printed 2023 directory, Edition No. 4, contains no Levoit rows anywhere in its 30 pages — we searched it for Levoit, Arovast, VeSync and for the model strings, and all returned zero. That absence from that edition is real. But AHAM's live directory does list this model, and the figures above come from it, read in the directory's own interface at ahamdir.com on 14 September 2026: "LEVOIT - Core 400S - W, Room Size 358 ft2, Smoke CADR 231, Dust CADR 240, PM2.5 CADR 236, Pollen CADR 259". The printed edition is a snapshot; the live directory is the current record.
  • LEVOIT'S HEADLINE FIGURE AND AHAM'S MEASUREMENT ARE THE SAME NUMBER. Levoit publishes 231 CFM and 358 ft² at 4.8 air changes; AHAM measured 231 cfm smoke and prints 358 sq ft. AHAM's own rule gives 231 x 1.55 = 358.05. Manufacturer, certifier and formula agree, which is the strongest position any model in this catalogue can be in.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED on the filter's own product page, so filter_life_months is null. Levoit's maintenance article gives 6-12 months for particle stages and 3-6 for carbon, for its filters generally.
  • LEVOIT DOES NOT STATE WHETHER THIS UNIT HAS AN IONIZER. The conclusion that it does not rests on CARB's Mechanical classification plus the absence of any mention on the product page, which is evidence rather than a manufacturer statement.
  • THE PRODUCT PAGE IS FOR THE CORE 400S-P. Levoit's own catalogue is inconsistent about the -P suffix across this range; see the filter guide for this model, where the same ambiguity is documented on the replacement cartridge.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 231 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in361 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes433 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem866 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 347 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

None identified by California's certifier. CARB's complete certified list carries the row "Levoit | Air Purifier | Core 400S | Mechanical | 2021-05-07 | G-21-166". Under California's regime only ELECTRONIC air cleaners are tested against the ozone emission limit, because only they have a component capable of producing it, so a Mechanical classification means CARB did not identify an ion- or ozone-generating stage in this unit.

Levoit's own product page does not mention an ionizer, UV lamp or plasma stage either. Taken together that is reasonable evidence for a filtration-only machine — which is worth stating plainly, because the sibling Core 300S-P is classified Electronic and does carry one.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration 3-stage cartridge, pre-installed Included
Odour and gas reduction Activated carbon layer, part of the same cartridge Included
Replacement filter Core 400S-RF, sold separately Sold separately
Air-quality sensor AirSight Plus laser dust sensor, built in Included
App and voice control VeSync app; Alexa or Google Assistant Included
Independently measured CADR Not available — no AHAM entry found Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Levoit Core 400S replacement filter

Part Core 400S-RF / ⚠️ UPC 810043372893 / LRF-C401S-WUS · Levoit does NOT state an interval on the filter's own product page. Checked 14-sep-2026: the page carries only a maintenance note reading "You may need to replace your filter earlier or later depending on how often you use your air purifier", with no number attached. The numbers Levoit does publish live on its maintenance article rather than the product page, and they are given per STAGE, which matters because on this unit all three stages are one cartridge: · main filters "should be changed every 6–12 months", with the guidance "Check your filter every six months and replace it when airflow seems reduced" · activated carbon filters "need replacement every 3–6 months", or "when you notice odors lingering" · pre-filters "should be gently vacuumed every 1–3 months" Read together, those say something the product page does not: the carbon layer in this cartridge is expected to be spent before the particle layer is, and you replace both because they are bonded together. No hours-per-day assumption is published behind any of the figures. Y UN TERCER NUMERO, QUE NO CUADRA CON LOS OTROS DOS: el anuncio genuino de Levoit en Amazon recomienda cambiar el filtro "every 6-8 months". La pagina de producto no da ninguno y el articulo de mantenimiento da 6-12 para la etapa de particulas y 3-6 para la de carbon. Tres fuentes del mismo fabricante, tres respuestas. Ninguna lleva un supuesto de horas al dia detras, que es lo que las haria comparables.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 5 notes
  • ⚠️ THIS MODEL IS IN AHAM'S LIVE DIRECTORY, AND THE PRINTED EDITION IS WHY WE ONCE SAID OTHERWISE. AHAM's printed 2023 directory, Edition No. 4, contains no Levoit rows anywhere in its 30 pages — we searched it for Levoit, Arovast, VeSync and for the model strings, and all returned zero. That absence from that edition is real. But AHAM's live directory does list this model, and the figures above come from it, read in the directory's own interface at ahamdir.com on 14 September 2026: "LEVOIT - Core 400S - W, Room Size 358 ft2, Smoke CADR 231, Dust CADR 240, PM2.5 CADR 236, Pollen CADR 259". The printed edition is a snapshot; the live directory is the current record.
  • LEVOIT'S HEADLINE FIGURE AND AHAM'S MEASUREMENT ARE THE SAME NUMBER. Levoit publishes 231 CFM and 358 ft² at 4.8 air changes; AHAM measured 231 cfm smoke and prints 358 sq ft. AHAM's own rule gives 231 x 1.55 = 358.05. Manufacturer, certifier and formula agree, which is the strongest position any model in this catalogue can be in.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED on the filter's own product page, so filter_life_months is null. Levoit's maintenance article gives 6-12 months for particle stages and 3-6 for carbon, for its filters generally.
  • LEVOIT DOES NOT STATE WHETHER THIS UNIT HAS AN IONIZER. The conclusion that it does not rests on CARB's Mechanical classification plus the absence of any mention on the product page, which is evidence rather than a manufacturer statement.
  • THE PRODUCT PAGE IS FOR THE CORE 400S-P. Levoit's own catalogue is inconsistent about the -P suffix across this range; see the filter guide for this model, where the same ambiguity is documented on the replacement cartridge.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews