NestyFinds

Levoit Core 400S replacement filter

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · Reviewed:

The part you need

Core 400S-RF · ⚠️ UPC 810043372893 · LRF-C401S-WUS

Levoit's 3-stage replacement filter for the Core 400S family: a pre-filter that traps "hairs, dust, large particles", a main filter Levoit states removes "99.97% of ultrafine particles down to 0.3 μm", and a high-density activated carbon layer for gases and odours.

Levoit says: Levoit does NOT state an interval on the filter's own product page.

Check current price for the Levoit Core 400S replacement filter on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Does it fit your unit?

Fits these models

  • Levoit Core 400S-P — this is the wording Levoit uses on the filter page: "Compatible with only: Core 400S-P".

Does NOT fit — commonly confused

  • Levoit Core 300 and Core 300S — a different, smaller unit with its own cartridge. Different diameter, different height; the names are the only thing they share.
  • Any Core 400S variant filter is interchangeable ONLY in the sense that all of them fit this unit. A Core 300 filter does not become a 400S filter by being the same brand.

Levoit does not agree with itself here

LEVOIT'S OWN PAGE CONTRADICTS ITSELF ABOUT WHICH UNIT THIS IS FOR, and it is the same contradiction we documented on the Core 300, so it is worth knowing it is a pattern rather than a one-off.

On the 3-stage replacement filter page, checked 14-sep-2026: · the Model field reads "Core 400S" — without the -P · the compatibility line reads "Compatible with only: Core 400S-P" — with the -P · the product title itself reads "Core 400S-P 3-Stage Replacement Filter"

So the same page identifies the product as belonging to Core 400S and says it fits only Core 400S-P. One of those is imprecise and Levoit does not say which.

WHAT TO DO ABOUT IT: read the model code on the rating plate underneath your own unit and order against that, not against the marketing name on the box or the listing. If your plate says Core 400S-P, the compatibility line covers you explicitly. If it says Core 400S without the suffix, you are relying on the Model field rather than the compatibility line — in which case match the UPC and keep the packaging sealed until you have checked the cartridge against the old one.

Variants Levoit sells

  • 3-Stage Replacement Filter — the standard cartridge, with a general-purpose activated carbon layer. This is the one to order unless you have a specific reason not to.
  • Smoke Remover Carbon Replacement Filter — carbon layer reformulated for smoke.
  • Toxin Absorber Carbon Replacement Filter — carbon layer aimed at gases rather than smoke.
  • Pet Allergy Carbon Replacement Filter — carbon layer aimed at pet-related odours.
  • All four share the same particle stage and the same physical cartridge; what changes is the carbon formulation. Levoit does not publish comparative figures between them, so there is no measurement to choose on — only the intended use each one names.

Units we have researched that take this filter: Levoit Core 400S .

What each part number is

Core 400S-RF
the code to order by. ⚠️ It is NOT on levoit.com: that product page carries only a Model field reading "Core 400S" and the UPC. The code appears in the title of Levoit's own genuine listing on Amazon, which is the manufacturer selling through a different channel. So it is a real Levoit code living somewhere other than where you would look for it.
⚠️ UPC 810043372893
PRINTED ON LEVOIT.COM BUT NOT UNIQUE TO THIS FILTER, so do not order by it. Levoit publishes the SAME UPC on its Core 200S replacement filter page, which is a different cartridge for a different machine. We checked both pages twice on 14-sep-2026 with a query asking for nothing but identifiers. A barcode exists to identify one product; on this range it does not, so use Core 400S-RF and the model on your unit's rating plate instead.
LRF-C401S-WUS
an internal code that also appears against this filter on some listings. Seen, recorded, and not something we can trace to a manufacturer page, so treat it as corroboration rather than as the code to search for.

What the manufacturer documents

What is in the set

Levoit's 3-stage replacement filter for the Core 400S family: a pre-filter that traps "hairs, dust, large particles", a main filter Levoit states removes "99.97% of ultrafine particles down to 0.3 μm", and a high-density activated carbon layer for gases and odours. The three arrive as one cylindrical cartridge, so the stages cannot be replaced separately.

That efficiency figure is Levoit's own statement. There is no public certification for consumer air purifier filters, so it is a manufacturer declaration rather than an independently verified result.

Levoit also sells three ALTERNATIVE cartridges for this same unit, each swapping the carbon layer for a different formulation. They are covered under variants below — choosing between them is a real decision on this model, not an upsell.

How often to change it

Levoit does NOT state an interval on the filter's own product page. Checked 14-sep-2026: the page carries only a maintenance note reading "You may need to replace your filter earlier or later depending on how often you use your air purifier", with no number attached.

The numbers Levoit does publish live on its maintenance article rather than the product page, and they are given per STAGE, which matters because on this unit all three stages are one cartridge: · main filters "should be changed every 6–12 months", with the guidance "Check your filter every six months and replace it when airflow seems reduced" · activated carbon filters "need replacement every 3–6 months", or "when you notice odors lingering" · pre-filters "should be gently vacuumed every 1–3 months"

Read together, those say something the product page does not: the carbon layer in this cartridge is expected to be spent before the particle layer is, and you replace both because they are bonded together. No hours-per-day assumption is published behind any of the figures.

Y UN TERCER NUMERO, QUE NO CUADRA CON LOS OTROS DOS: el anuncio genuino de Levoit en Amazon recomienda cambiar el filtro "every 6-8 months". La pagina de producto no da ninguno y el articulo de mantenimiento da 6-12 para la etapa de particulas y 3-6 para la de carbon. Tres fuentes del mismo fabricante, tres respuestas. Ninguna lleva un supuesto de horas al dia detras, que es lo que las haria comparables.

Levoit’s page for this filter

Genuine vs third-party filters

Levoit publishes no position on third-party filters for this model that we could locate, so none is summarised here.

What Levoit DOES publish, and which is unusual enough to be worth quoting, is a cleaning position that differs from other brands in this catalogue: "We recommend you gently vacuum your Levoit filters. Refer to the user manual to learn how to properly clean and replace the filters." Honeywell, by contrast, states plainly that its filters "should not be washed or cleaned". Two manufacturers, opposite advice, both about their own hardware — which is a good reminder that maintenance guidance does not transfer between brands and that the manual for your unit is the only one that applies to it.

That is Levoit’s stated position, reported as theirs. We have not tested third-party filters and make no claim about how well they work.

When something goes wrong

Symptom Why it happens What to do
Looking for the part code on levoit.com and not finding one. Levoit's product page gives a Model field and a UPC and no part code at all. The code people expect, Core 400S-RF, is printed in the title of Levoit's own genuine listing on Amazon instead. Order by Core 400S-RF — NOT by the UPC, which Levoit also prints on its Core 200S filter — and check that the listing you are on says Genuine and is sold by Levoit. A dozen third-party filters use the same code in their titles to be found, which is legitimate but is not the same product.
Uncertainty about whether the filter is for Core 400S or Core 400S-P. Levoit's page says both, in different fields. See the compatibility section above. Read the model code on the rating plate of your own unit and match that, rather than the name on the listing.
Odours return long before the filter is due. The carbon layer saturates on its own schedule — Levoit's own guidance puts carbon at 3–6 months against 6–12 for the particle stage — and on this unit the two are bonded into one cartridge. Levoit's stated cue is odours lingering rather than a date. If smells return at three or four months, the carbon is spent, and on this design that means replacing the whole cartridge.
Airflow drops well before the stated window. The pre-filter loads first, and it is the stage Levoit says can be maintained. Levoit recommends gently vacuuming the pre-filter every 1–3 months. That is specific to Levoit's hardware and does not transfer to other brands, several of which say the opposite about their own filters.
Check current price for the Levoit Core 400S replacement filter on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

How we researched this

Checked against the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this filter. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 7 notes
  • ⚠️ CORRECTED 14-sep-2026: THE UPC ON THIS PAGE IS NOT UNIQUE. An earlier version of this guide presented UPC 810043372893 as the most reliable identifier for ordering elsewhere. It is not: Levoit prints the same number on its Core 200S filter page, for a different cartridge. We found this while researching the Core 200S and verified it against both pages before changing this one. The RF code and the model on the rating plate are what identify this filter.
  • THE PART CODE IS REAL BUT IT IS NOT ON THE MANUFACTURER'S PRODUCT PAGE. Checked 14-sep-2026: levoit.com shows a Model field ("Core 400S") and a UPC (810043372893) and no part code. "Core 400S-RF" appears in the title of Levoit's own genuine Amazon listing. Both are Levoit; only one of them prints the code, and it is not the one on levoit.com.
  • NO INTERVAL ON THE PRODUCT PAGE. The figures quoted here come from Levoit's maintenance article, which gives them per stage and for filters generally rather than for this cartridge specifically. That distinction is real and is stated in the interval section.
  • NO HOURS-PER-DAY ASSUMPTION is published behind any of Levoit's intervals, so none of them can be scaled arithmetically.
  • LEVOIT'S SUPPORT CENTRE ARTICLE ON INTERVALS WAS NOT READABLE. The URL returned HTTP 401 on 14-sep-2026, so nothing from it is used here.
  • NO COMPARATIVE DATA BETWEEN THE FOUR CARBON VARIANTS is published, so this page does not rank them.
  • No Levoit position on third-party filters for this model was located.

Sources consulted