NestyFinds

Levoit Core 200S-P

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Levoit Core 200S-P
140 ft² CADR 90 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified 27–48 dB

An AHAM Verifide smoke CADR of 90 cfm and a 140 sq ft room size — and unusually, Levoit's own specification table prints exactly the same 140 sq ft the certifying body does.

Pros

  • A full AHAM Verifide CADR set — 101 dust, 90 smoke, 119 pollen — rather than a single self-declared headline number.
  • Levoit prints the 1 ACH and the 4.8 ACH room sizes side by side instead of showing only the flattering one, and its 140 sq ft matches AHAM's to the square foot.
  • The published specification set is complete: noise range, wattage, dimensions and weight are all there. Several competing models in this catalogue publish none of those.
  • CARB lists it Mechanical. There is no electronic stage to understand, switch off or worry about.
  • Pollen is its strongest measured figure at 119 cfm, above both its dust and its smoke number.
  • AHAM's own directory entry links through to the same replacement-filter listing we had already identified independently for our filter page — two routes, one part.

Cons

  • ⚠️ Levoit publishes no filter-replacement interval on the purifier's page at all. The 6–8 month figure lives on the filter's separate page, and Levoit states different windows for different models in its own range.
  • ⚠️ Order the replacement by name or by listing, never by UPC. Levoit prints the same UPC on the Core 200S and Core 400S filter pages, and those are different parts.
  • AHAM recorded 44.3 operating watts during its smoke test against the 37 W Levoit states. The two are measured under different conditions, but if you are budgeting for continuous running, use the larger one.
  • ⚠️ The variants are not one machine. AHAM measures the LAP-C202S version at 105 dust and 110 pollen against this unit's 101 and 119 — same smoke figure, different everything else.
  • Levoit's own stage list calls the middle stage "Main Filter" without naming a grade. The True HEPA wording appears in the model's CARB registration title and in its marketing, not in the specification table's list of stages.
  • Levoit does not state whether the nylon pre-filter can be washed, so treat the whole cartridge as consumable until it tells you otherwise.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims, and this model has a complete AHAM Verifide set whose room size reconciles three ways. It publishes the specifications most of its competitors leave blank, and CARB classifies it Mechanical. Marked down for publishing no replacement interval on the product page, for the shared UPC that makes its consumable easy to order wrongly, for variants that measure differently under the same marketing name, and for the gap between the stated wattage and the wattage AHAM recorded.

Verdict

The Core 200S-P is the rare small purifier whose numbers reconcile. AHAM measures it at 90 cfm smoke and sizes it at 140 sq ft; Levoit's own specification table prints that same 140 sq ft at 4.8 air changes, and AHAM's published formula independently produces 139.5. Manufacturer, certifier and arithmetic agree, and the full specification set — noise, wattage, dimensions, weight — is published rather than left blank. CARB lists it Mechanical, so there is no electronic stage to think about. Two things to know before buying. Levoit publishes no replacement interval on this page, and the same UPC appears on two different Levoit filter pages, so order the consumable by name or by listing and not by barcode. And 140 sq ft is genuinely small: the 672 sq ft you will see quoted is the one-air-change figure.

Check current price for the Levoit Core 200S-P on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • A bedroom or home office of roughly 140 sq ft where you want a real 4.8 air changes an hour rather than a headline.
  • Anyone who wants app and voice control at the small end of the range without an electronic filtration stage.
  • People who like to check a manufacturer's arithmetic before buying. This one survives the check, which is not something we can say about every model here.

Who should skip it

  • Rooms much beyond 140 sq ft. The 672 sq ft figure on the box is the one-air-change number and is not comparable to the way most brands quote coverage.
  • Anyone who wants the replacement interval printed on the machine's own page rather than hunted down on the filter's.
  • Anyone shopping strictly on smoke CADR — 90 cfm is genuinely small, and that is the figure the room size is derived from.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 air changes per hour, and this figure survives three separate checks. AHAM's directory prints 140 sq ft for this model. AHAM's own published rule is room size = smoke CADR x 1.55, and 90 x 1.55 = 139.5. Levoit's specification table prints "Ideal Room Size: 672 ft2 (1 ACH) / 140 ft2 (4.8 ACH)" — the same 140. A manufacturer and a certifying body agreeing to the square foot is rarer than it ought to be.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Levoit Core 200S-P — documented specifications
Smoke CADR 90 cfm, AHAM Verifide and Levoit's own page states the same 90 CFM
AHAM suggested room size 140 sq ft, equivalent to 4.8 air changes per hour
CARB Certified, device type Mechanical, notified 2020-09-28, executive order G-20-216
Noise 27–48 dB
Power 37 W stated by Levoit AHAM recorded 44.3 operating watts during its smoke test
Filter life Not stated on the purifier's page. Levoit states 6–8 months on the filter's own page
Replacement filter Core 200S-RF order it by that code or by the listing, not by its UPC
The full record: 6 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Dust CADR 101 cfm, AHAM Verifide
Pollen CADR 119 cfm, AHAM Verifide its strongest measured figure
PM2.5 CADR 95 cfm, AHAM Verifide under the newer PM2.5 measure
Manufacturer room size 672 sq ft at 1 air change per hour, 140 sq ft at 4.8 Levoit publishes both bases
Dimensions 8.1 x 8.1 x 12.6 in
Weight 6.6 lb
7 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • THE AHAM FIGURES HERE COME FROM THE LIVE DIRECTORY, NOT FROM THE PRINTED 2023 EDITION. We checked: the October 2023 printed directory runs the full alphabet across its 30 pages and contains no Levoit rows at all, while the live directory carries 83. Anyone comparing this page against that PDF will not find the model in it, and that absence is not a contradiction.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's own header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT | Meet Ozone Limits", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would have published the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • THE 37 W AND THE 44.3 W ARE NOT THE SAME MEASUREMENT. Levoit states 37 W on its product page; AHAM records 44.3 operating watts during the tobacco-smoke test, which is run at the setting the certified CADR applies to. We publish both rather than choosing, because we did not see either laboratory's conditions.
  • AHAM DOES NOT POPULATE ITS OZONE-LIMITS COLUMN IN THE LIVE DIRECTORY DATA — the field is empty for all 719 records we read, including models whose printed 2023 row shows "Yes". We therefore make no AHAM ozone statement for this model. The CARB classification above is a separate and independently verified finding.
  • "MAIN FILTER" IS LEVOIT'S OWN WORDING for the middle stage in its specification table. We have not reproduced a filtration grade for that stage in our own voice; the True HEPA description comes from the model's CARB registration title and from Levoit's marketing.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED on the purifier's product page. The 6–8 months comes from Levoit's page for the filter itself.
  • WE DID NOT SEE A MARKETING COVERAGE FIGURE THAT CONTRADICTS THE SPECIFICATION TABLE. A search summary reported "rooms up to 675 ft²" for this model; reading the page itself, every coverage figure on it says 672, in the headline, the bullet and the table alike. The 675 was the summariser's, not Levoit's.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 90 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in141 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes169 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem338 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 135 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

CARB lists this model as Mechanical, which is the classification you want if you would rather the machine simply filtered air. CARB's complete list carries "Levoit | Smart True HEPA Air Purifier | Core 200S | Mechanical | 2020-09-28 | G-20-216", with separate rows for the LAP-C201S variants.

Mechanical means California's certifier identified no ozone-generating component, so the unit was not subject to the ozone emission test that Electronic devices must pass. Levoit's product page describes no ionizer, no UV lamp and no ozone-producing stage, and offers no switch for one. There is nothing here to manage or turn off.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle filtration 3-stage cartridge, pre-installed Included
Odour reduction Activated carbon layer, part of the same cartridge Included
App and voice control VeSync app; Alexa or Google Assistant account Included
Night light Built in Included
Replacement cartridge Core 200S-RF, sold separately Sold separately
Washable pre-filter Levoit does not state that any stage is washable Not verified
Stated filter interval Not on the purifier's page; 6–8 months on the filter's page Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Levoit Core 200S replacement filter

Part Core 200S-RF / ⚠️ DO NOT ORDER THIS ONE BY UPC. Levoit's page gives UPC 810043372893 · "It is recommended to replace filters for every 6-8 months", per Levoit's product page for this filter. ⚠️ That is a THIRD different window from the same manufacturer. Levoit states 6-12 months for the Vital 100S-P, 6-8 for the Vital 100, 6-8 here, nothing at all on the Core 400S and Core Mini pages, and its maintenance article gives 6-12 for particle stages and 3-6 for carbon. None of those figures carries an hours-per-day assumption, so none of them can be scaled to your own use or compared with another. The practical reading: treat any Levoit interval as a reminder rather than a measurement, and watch airflow at a speed you actually use.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 7 notes
  • THE AHAM FIGURES HERE COME FROM THE LIVE DIRECTORY, NOT FROM THE PRINTED 2023 EDITION. We checked: the October 2023 printed directory runs the full alphabet across its 30 pages and contains no Levoit rows at all, while the live directory carries 83. Anyone comparing this page against that PDF will not find the model in it, and that absence is not a contradiction.
  • ⚠️ THE AHAM COLUMN ORDER IS DUST FIRST, THEN TOBACCO SMOKE, THEN POLLEN. The printed directory's own header reads "Dust CADR | Tobacco Smoke CADR | Pollen CADR | Room Size sq FT | Meet Ozone Limits", and the live directory labels the same fields explicitly. Reading the first column as smoke would have published the wrong headline figure and a room size that does not reconcile.
  • THE 37 W AND THE 44.3 W ARE NOT THE SAME MEASUREMENT. Levoit states 37 W on its product page; AHAM records 44.3 operating watts during the tobacco-smoke test, which is run at the setting the certified CADR applies to. We publish both rather than choosing, because we did not see either laboratory's conditions.
  • AHAM DOES NOT POPULATE ITS OZONE-LIMITS COLUMN IN THE LIVE DIRECTORY DATA — the field is empty for all 719 records we read, including models whose printed 2023 row shows "Yes". We therefore make no AHAM ozone statement for this model. The CARB classification above is a separate and independently verified finding.
  • "MAIN FILTER" IS LEVOIT'S OWN WORDING for the middle stage in its specification table. We have not reproduced a filtration grade for that stage in our own voice; the True HEPA description comes from the model's CARB registration title and from Levoit's marketing.
  • NO REPLACEMENT INTERVAL IS PUBLISHED on the purifier's product page. The 6–8 months comes from Levoit's page for the filter itself.
  • WE DID NOT SEE A MARKETING COVERAGE FIGURE THAT CONTRADICTS THE SPECIFICATION TABLE. A search summary reported "rooms up to 675 ft²" for this model; reading the page itself, every coverage figure on it says 672, in the headline, the bullet and the table alike. The 675 was the summariser's, not Levoit's.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews