NestyFinds

Honeywell HPA300

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Honeywell HPA300
465 ft² CADR 300 cfm AHAM Verifide CARB certified Filter ~12 mo

A two-stage mechanical purifier that holds three Type R "True HEPA" filters behind one Type A pre-filter, AHAM Verifide at 300 cfm smoke CADR with a 465 sq ft AHAM suggested room size.

Pros

  • AHAM Verifide at 300 cfm smoke / 320 cfm dust / 300 cfm pollen — confirmed in AHAM's own 2023 directory (Edition No. 4, October 2023), not just on a marketing page.
  • The seller publishes an air-change basis alongside the coverage number — "up to 4.8 x per hour in a 465 sq. ft room" — so the room-size figure can be checked against AHAM's own 465 sq ft directory listing instead of being taken on trust.
  • Purely mechanical filtration: CARB lists it as device type "Mechanical" (EO G-13-035) and the manual documents no ionizer, plasma or UV stage, so there is no electronic mode to remember to switch off.

Cons

  • Consumables are heavy: the unit holds three Type R HEPA filters at once on a 12-month interval plus a Type A pre-filter every 3 months, and the manual's maintenance note and both FAQs are explicit that no filter is washable — so every replacement is a purchase. (The same manual contradicts itself in a stray running header and in warranty clause D; see notes.)
  • No air-quality sensor and no auto mode are documented, so the fan stays on whichever of the three levels (or Turbo) you last selected regardless of what the air in the room is actually doing.
  • Neither a decibel figure nor a wattage is published for this model, so noise and running power cannot be compared against competitors that do document them — the product page offers only "as quiet as a whisper" and "as loud as a normal conversation".
  • The bulk of the non-AHAM, non-CARB specs — dimensions, weight, warranty, the 99.97% capture figure, the ozone and carbon-monoxide statements — trace to a licensed brand store run by a third party (eAccess Solutions, Inc.), not to a page published by Honeywell International or by the actual manufacturer, Kaz USA, Inc. The brand's own site could not be read to corroborate them.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed third-party measurement above manufacturer claims. In its favour: the CADR of 300/320/300 cfm is AHAM Verifide rather than self-declared, the design is purely mechanical and CARB certified (EO G-13-035) with no electronic stage to disable, and the 465 sq ft coverage reconciles exactly with AHAM’s published room-size rule. Against it: three non-washable filters a year plus quarterly pre-filters, no air-quality sensor, no auto mode, no app, and no manufacturer-published noise or wattage figures at all. Two things pull the score down further. Most of the remaining specifications trace only to a licensed third-party store rather than to Honeywell or to Kaz, and the coverage disclosure on that store reads “up to 4.8 x per hour”, footnoted with a statement that there is no guarantee all the air in a room passes through the filter. The 2,250 sq ft figure in the retail listing title is a different measure again: at 300 cfm that works out at roughly one air change per hour, which is not comparable to AHAM’s 465 sq ft.

Verdict

The HPA300 is a purely mechanical two-stage purifier holding four filter elements — three Type R filters the manufacturer designates "True HEPA", behind one Type A carbon pre-filter. AHAM Verifide CADR is 300 cfm smoke / 320 dust / 300 pollen, and AHAM's directory lists a 465 sq ft suggested room size. The familiar 4.8 air-changes-per-hour figure is not an AHAM measurement of this unit: it is AHAM's convention for how a suggested room size is derived (smoke CADR × 1.55), and the seller's own claim is "up to 4.8 x per hour", footnoted with "There is no guarantee that all of the air in a room will pass through the filter." It has no air-quality sensor, auto mode or app control, and it consumes three HEPA filters and four pre-filters per year, none of them washable. CARB lists the base HPA300 as Mechanical under EO G-13-035. The offer this page points at states its model number as HPA300 and its manufacturer as Kaz, which is exactly the unit that order covers; the later HPA300V-series variants are certified separately, under their own executive order and under a different brand name. So the open question is supply rather than identity: Honeywell’s own licensed store now flags the base model discontinued, so check that the listing still names HPA300 — not a V-series successor — before you order.

Check current price for the Honeywell HPA300 on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • You are treating one large open room of roughly 400-465 sq ft and want the coverage number backed by an AHAM directory entry at AHAM's own 465 sq ft suggested room size, rather than by the 2,250 sq ft figure in the retail listing title.
  • You specifically want filtration with no electronic stage in the airflow — buying into California, where CARB certification is a legal requirement for selling or shipping a portable air cleaner into the state, or simply preferring a unit with no ionizer or UV lamp to disable.
  • You want plain manual controls you set once — three levels plus Turbo, a 2/4/8-hour auto-off timer and a panel dimmer for a bedroom — rather than an app-connected purifier.

Who should skip it

  • You need a larger AHAM suggested room size than 465 sq ft. Honeywell's own AHAM listings show the HPA5300B at 500 sq ft and the HPA3300B at 530 sq ft; step up to one of those rather than sizing the HPA300 from the "Cleans Up To 2250 Sq Ft in 1 Hour" listing title, which corresponds to roughly one air change per hour at 300 cfm with an 8 ft ceiling.
  • You want the purifier to react on its own to cooking smoke, wildfire haze or a pollen spike. This model has no particle sensor and no auto mode, so buy a unit that documents both — otherwise you are the sensor, and it runs on low while the room gets worse.
  • Running cost matters more to you than peak filtration. Three non-washable HEPA filters a year plus four pre-filters is a standing annual expense; a unit with a washable pre-filter and a single HEPA element will cost materially less to keep fed, at lower CADR.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

4.8 ACH, manufacturer-stated and qualified. The licensed Honeywell Store product page states the unit is "Independently tested and AHAM Verifide to circulate and filter room air up to 4.8 x per hour in a 465 sq. ft room", and footnotes that same claim: "Air circulation depends on many factors, such as room size and configuration. There is no guarantee that all of the air in a room will pass through the filter." AHAM's directory independently lists a 465 sq ft suggested room size for this model, but publishes no air-changes-per-hour column; the 4.8 figure is AHAM's labelling convention, per AHAM's white paper ("Air cleaners that carry the AHAM Verifide Mark have a suggested room size based on 4.8 air changes per hour"; Room Size (ft2) = CADR (Smoke) x 1.55, and 300 x 1.55 = 465). Note the Amazon listing title instead states "Cleans Up To 2250 Sq Ft in 1 Hour", which corresponds to roughly 1 ACH at 300 cfm with an 8 ft ceiling; only the 465 sq ft figure is comparable to AHAM room-size ratings.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Honeywell HPA300 — documented specifications
CADR — Tobacco Smoke 300 cfm (the AHAM directory prints "300" with no unit; the unit comes from AHAM's own white paper see "CADR measurement unit")
AHAM suggested room size 465 sq ft
CARB certification Certified device type "Mechanical", EO number G-13-035, date notified 2013-03-15, listed under brand "Honeywell™ by Kaz", model name "True HEPA Allergen Remover", model number "HPA300". CARB's list carries separate entries for the HPA300V1-V4/COM variants (EO G-22-456) and the HPA300VP (EO G-17-024); this row is the base HPA300 only.
Noise level (decibels) Not published by the manufacturer the licensed Honeywell Store product page describes it only qualitatively ("about as quiet as a whisper" on the lowest speed, "about as loud as a normal conversation" on the highest), and the manual carries no dB rating anywhere
Power consumption (watts) Not documented in any manufacturer source located
HEPA filter replacement interval Every 12 months
HEPA filters per unit 3 × Type R ("HPA300 Series use 3 HEPA R Filters")
The full record: 24 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
CADR — Dust 320 cfm (the AHAM directory prints "320" with no unit; the unit comes from AHAM's own white paper see "CADR measurement unit")
CADR — Pollen 300 cfm (the AHAM directory prints "300" with no unit; the unit comes from AHAM's own white paper see "CADR measurement unit")
CADR measurement unit AHAM white paper verbatim: "CADR is measured in cubic feet per minute or in cubic meters per hour." The directory itself states no unit in any of its 30 pages.
How AHAM's suggested room size is derived AHAM white paper verbatim: "Air cleaners that carry the AHAM Verifide® Mark have a suggested room size based on 4.8 air changes per hour", and "Room Size (ft2) = CADR (Smoke) x 1.55". For this model 300 x 1.55 = 465, matching the directory entry. This is AHAM's labelling convention for the suggested room size; AHAM's directory publishes no air-changes-per-hour column for any model.
Coverage basis (air changes per hour) Up to 4.8 air changes per hour in a 465 sq. ft. room (manufacturer-stated the page footnotes that air circulation depends on room size and configuration and that there is no guarantee all room air passes through the filter)
AHAM "Meet Ozone Limits" Yes
HEPA capture rating The licensed Honeywell Store product page states: up to 99.97% of airborne particles 0.3 microns and larger, from the air that passes through the filter. This is a manufacturer/seller declaration there is no independent HEPA certification behind it.
Filtration stages 2 stages Stage 1 odor-reducing pre-filter, Stage 2 HEPA (four filter elements in total: one pre-filter plus three Type R filters)
HEPA filter part numbers HRF-R1 (single pack), HRF-R2 (2 pack), HRF-R3 (3 pack)
Pre-filter part numbers HRF-AP1 (Odor Reducing) or HRF-APP1 (Household Gas & Odor Reducing)
Pre-filter replacement interval Every 3 months
Washable filters None the manual states "None of the filters are washable. Do not immerse them in water." and its FAQ answers "No. Washing either filter will ruin it." Note the same manual contradicts itself elsewhere (a running header reads "MAINTAINING YOUR STAGE 1 WASHABLE PARTICLE PRE-FILTER" and warranty clause D refers to "the washable Pre-Filter") — see notes.
Cleaning levels / fan speeds 3 cleaning levels (control-panel labels: Germ General Clean, Allergen) plus a Turbo setting
Auto-off timer 2, 4 or 8 hours
Panel dimmer Yes 3 states (High, Low, Off); unit does not power off when LEDs are off
Filter change indicator Electronic "Check Filter" and "Check Pre-Filter" reminders each resettable by press-and-hold for ~2 seconds
Dimensions (L × W × H) 20.8 × 10.83 × 22.38 in per the licensed Honeywell Store product page
Weight 17 lbs (per the licensed Honeywell Store product page)
Warranty 5 year limited warranty (per the licensed Honeywell Store product page the manual notes Honeywell International itself "makes no representation or warranties with respect to this product", the product being made and warranted by Kaz USA, Inc.)
ENERGY STAR Manual states the product "earned the ENERGY STAR rating" AHAM's 2023 directory marks Energy Star "Yes". Not present in the current ENERGY STAR V3.0 certified dataset (consistent with certification under an earlier specification version).
Ozone statement The licensed Honeywell Store product page states: "No Honeywell HEPA Air Purifiers use HEPA Filtration that does not release ozone into the surrounding area." Corroborated independently by AHAM ("Meet Ozone Limits: Yes") and CARB device type "Mechanical".
Carbon monoxide limitation Does not reduce or adsorb carbon monoxide stated on the licensed Honeywell Store product page
Manufactured by Kaz USA, Inc. "The Honeywell Trademark is used by Kaz USA, Inc. under license from Honeywell International Inc."
Product status The licensed Honeywell Store product page flags this model as discontinued and no longer available for purchase there. Specifications reflect the last published documentation rather than a currently produced unit.
21 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • THE LISTING IS THE BASE HPA300. It gives the model number as HPA300 in both of its detail blocks and names Kaz as the manufacturer, which matches CARB’s row for this unit exactly: “Honeywell™ by Kaz | True HEPA Allergen Remover | HPA300 | Mechanical | 2013-03-15 | G-13-035”. The later HPA300V1–V4 and HPA300COM variants are certified separately under executive order G-22-456 and are listed under the brand “Honeywell” rather than “Honeywell™ by Kaz”; this listing offers none of them, and carries no variant selector. Checked against the complete CARB list rather than its summary page, which renders only a fraction of the rows.
  • Amazon’s own compliance field on this listing is empty, so the CARB status stated here comes from CARB’s list and not from the retailer.
  • ACH attribution corrected. The record previously presented "4.8 Air changes per hour in a 465 sq. ft. room" inside quotation marks as a verbatim Honeywell statement. That string does not appear on the cited page. The page says "Independently tested and AHAM Verifide to circulate and filter room air up to 4.8 x per hour in a 465 sq. ft room" and footnotes it: "Air circulation depends on many factors, such as room size and configuration. There is no guarantee that all of the air in a room will pass through the filter." The record now carries the "up to" and the footnote. AHAM's directory publishes no air-changes-per-hour column for any model, so no AHAM entry certifies a delivered 4.8 ACH for this unit; 4.8 ACH is AHAM's convention for deriving the suggested room size, per its white paper.
  • CADR unit not stated in the source that carries the numbers. All 30 pages of the AHAM directory were searched for "cfm", "cubic feet" and "air change" — zero hits; its headers read only "Dust CADR", "Tobacco Smoke CADR", "Pollen CADR", "Room Size sq FT". The store page likewise prints "Tobacco Smoke: 300 / Dust: 320 / Pollen: 300" with no unit. The unit is therefore sourced separately to AHAM's white paper: "CADR is measured in cubic feet per minute or in cubic meters per hour."
  • Source provenance: honeywellstore.com is a licensed brand store, not a manufacturer page. Its footer reads "HoneywellStore.com is operated by eAccess Solutions, Inc., under license by Honeywell International Inc." It is not published by Honeywell International (whose own manual states it "makes no representation or warranties with respect to this product") nor by the manufacturer, Kaz USA, Inc. / Helen of Troy. Ten rows of the specification table below, plus the ozone, carbon-monoxide and 99.97% quotes, rest on that one page, and each is attributed to it rather than to “Honeywell”. The brand's own site (honeywellpluggedin.com) returns HTTP 403 and could not corroborate them.
  • "True HEPA" and the 99.97% at 0.3 microns figure are manufacturer/seller declarations, not independent certifications. There is no public HEPA certification available to a consumer brand. The figure is reproduced with its own qualifier ("from the air that passes through the filter") and attributed to the licensed store page, and is not asserted in our voice.
  • Manual contradicts itself on washability. A running header reads "MAINTAINING YOUR STAGE 1 WASHABLE PARTICLE PRE-FILTER" (recurring in the English, French and Spanish sections) and warranty clause D refers to "the washable Pre-Filter", while the maintenance note ("None of the filters are washable. Do not immerse them in water."), the manual FAQ ("No. Washing either filter will ruin it") and the store FAQ ("No. Washing the filters in your air purifier will ruin them") all state no filter is washable. Recorded as not washable on the strength of the explicit statements, with the conflict disclosed rather than silently resolved.
  • Comparative CADR ranking removed. The record previously said 300 cfm was "among the higher CADR figures in that directory for a consumer plug-in unit". No published AHAM ranking supports that phrasing, and a reader cannot check it against the cited document without re-parsing all 30 pages by coordinate, so the clause was deleted rather than restated with a derived percentile.
  • Wattage / power consumption: NOT RECORDED (null). Checked the licensed store's product page, the official HPA300-series manual PDF (P/N 31IMA100190), and the ENERGY STAR Certified Room Air Cleaners V3.0 dataset (resource gaa3-swy6 — a full pull of all 241 records returns 0 matches for HPA300). The earlier ENERGY STAR V2.0 dataset (jmck-i55n), which would likely hold this model's entry, now returns "You must be logged in to access this resource". Review sites quote mutually contradictory figures (17 W vs 42 W on the lowest speed; 76 W vs 131 W on Turbo) with no cited source, so none were used.
  • Noise in decibels: NOT RECORDED (null for both min and max). No dB figure appears on the product page or anywhere in the manual; the page offers only "At the lowest speed, this home air purifier is about as quiet as a whisper. At the highest speed, the portable air purifier is about as loud as a normal conversation." Review sites span roughly 39-70 dB with no shared measurement distance or methodology and no manufacturer citation.
  • Coverage figures conflict between channels. The licensed store states up to 4.8 ACH in 465 sq ft; the Amazon listing title for ASIN B00BWYO53G states "Cleans Up To 2250 Sq Ft in 1 Hour". That is arithmetically consistent at a different basis — 2,250 sq ft × 8 ft ÷ 60 min = 300 cfm, i.e. roughly one air change per hour — so it is not a false claim, simply not comparable to AHAM's room-size rating, which assumes 4.8 ACH. Recorded the 465 sq ft basis and stated the arithmetic neutrally rather than characterising the retail claim.
  • AHAM directory extraction caveat: the directory PDF's text layer misaligns model names against their data rows under standard layout extraction, which would wrongly attribute 140/125/140 cfm at 190 sq ft to the HPA300. Values here were taken by re-extracting the page with per-word x/y coordinates and matching the column header positions (Dust x≈205, Tobacco Smoke x≈267, Pollen x≈333, Room Size x≈399). The corrected HPA300 row reads Dust 320, Tobacco Smoke 300, Pollen 300, Room Size 465, Meet Ozone Limits Yes, Energy Star Yes.
  • CARB brand string corrected to the source's own rendering: "Honeywell™ by Kaz" (trademark symbol), not "Honeywell® by Kaz". The rest of the row is exact: True HEPA Allergen Remover | HPA300 | Mechanical | 2013-03-15 | G-13-035. Note that a page-summarising fetch of the CARB list wrongly reports the HPA300 as absent; the raw table contains it.
  • CARB lists related but distinct devices under different Executive Orders: HPA300V1-V4/COM under G-22-456 and HPA300VP under G-17-024. The certification recorded here (G-13-035) covers the base HPA300 only and must not be read across to those variants.
  • ENERGY STAR status: the manual and the product page both state the model earned the ENERGY STAR label, and AHAM's 2023 directory marks Energy Star "Yes". The model is absent from the current V3.0 certified dataset, which is consistent with certification under an earlier specification version rather than with a lack of certification. Recorded as manufacturer-stated, not as currently listed.
  • Filter life ranges differ between sources on the same site. The manual states HEPA every 12 months and pre-filter every 3 months; the FAQ block on the product page gives wider ranges (HEPA 6-12 months, pre-filter 1-3 months). filter_life_months records the manual's 12-month interval.
  • Child lock: no control-panel lockout is documented in the manual — the only panel function of that kind is the Dimmer, which adjusts LED brightness and explicitly does not power the unit off. Marked not_verified rather than asserted absent.
  • Product status: the manufacturer's own licensed store flags this item discontinued and no longer available for purchase there. Specifications reflect the last published documentation rather than a currently produced unit.
  • Honeywellpluggedin.com (the Helen of Troy brand site) returned HTTP 403 and could not be read; device.report's copy of the manual also returned 403. The official manual PDF hosted on honeywellstore.com was used instead and is the source for all manual-derived values.
  • The control-panel level labeled "Germ" is reported here as a fan-speed preset name printed on the unit. No germ-, virus- or illness-related performance claim is made or implied, and the manufacturer's own cold-and-flu wording for that preset is deliberately not reproduced. The only capture figure documented is 99.97% of particles 0.3 microns and larger from air passing through the filter, attributed to the seller.
  • No price or price range was recorded anywhere in this record, per Amazon Associates operating agreement constraints.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 300 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in469 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes563 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem1125 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 450 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

None documented. The HPA300 is listed on CARB's certified air cleaning devices list with device type "Mechanical" (EO G-13-035, date notified 2013-03-15, listed under brand "Honeywell™ by Kaz") — that is, filtration only, with no electronic air-cleaning stage. The official manual covering the HPA090/100/200/300 series describes a purely 2-stage mechanical system (odor-reducing pre-filter, then HEPA) and documents no ionizer, no bipolar/plasma stage and no UV lamp anywhere; there is therefore no such mode for the user to switch off. The only control-panel options documented are three cleaning levels (labeled Germ, General Clean, Allergen), a Turbo setting, a 2/4/8-hour auto-off timer, and a dimmer for the panel LEDs. On ozone output the licensed Honeywell Store product page states verbatim: "No, Honeywell HEPA Air Purifiers use HEPA Filtration that does not release ozone into the surrounding area." AHAM's directory separately marks the HPA300 "Yes" in its "Meet Ozone Limits" column, and CARB's device type is "Mechanical" — two independent corroborations of the seller's statement. The same page also documents a limitation on the gas-phase side: "This product does not reduce or adsorb carbon monoxide gas."

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
HEPA filtration (manufacturer designation: "True HEPA") 3 × Type R filters (HRF-R1 / HRF-R2 / HRF-R3) Included
Carbon / odour and VOC reduction Type A activated carbon pre-filter (HRF-AP1), or HRF-APP1 for household gas & odour Included
Air-quality sensor A particle sensor — none documented in the manual or on the product page Not verified
Auto mode Sensor-driven fan control — manual documents manual speed selection only (Germ / General Clean / Allergen, plus Turbo) Not verified
App / smart control Wi-Fi or Bluetooth connectivity — none documented for this model Not verified
Timer Built-in auto-off timer, 2 / 4 / 8 hours Included
Child lock A control-panel lockout — manual documents a Dimmer for the panel LEDs but no lock function Not verified
Replacement filters (beyond the initial set in the box) HRF-R3 HEPA 3-pack annually plus HRF-AP1 or HRF-APP1 pre-filter quarterly Sold separately

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Honeywell Type R filter for HPA air purifiers

Part HRF-R3 / HRF-R2 / HRF-R1 / HRF-A300 / HRF-AP1 / HRF-APP1 · Two different clocks, and they are not the same one. Type R (the HEPA stage): "Replace Honeywell HEPA Filters once every year", per the Honeywell Store product page. Filter A (the carbon pre-filter): "Replace Honeywell Pre Filter A every 3 months." That asymmetry is the practical cost of this system and it is the figure to run before buying: an HPA300 consumes three Type R filters a year plus four pre-filters. Honeywell does not publish an hours-per-day assumption behind either interval, so neither can be scaled arithmetically to your own use — watch the pre-filter for visible loading, which on this design is the one you can actually see.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list, the ENERGY STAR certified-products list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 21 notes
  • THE LISTING IS THE BASE HPA300. It gives the model number as HPA300 in both of its detail blocks and names Kaz as the manufacturer, which matches CARB’s row for this unit exactly: “Honeywell™ by Kaz | True HEPA Allergen Remover | HPA300 | Mechanical | 2013-03-15 | G-13-035”. The later HPA300V1–V4 and HPA300COM variants are certified separately under executive order G-22-456 and are listed under the brand “Honeywell” rather than “Honeywell™ by Kaz”; this listing offers none of them, and carries no variant selector. Checked against the complete CARB list rather than its summary page, which renders only a fraction of the rows.
  • Amazon’s own compliance field on this listing is empty, so the CARB status stated here comes from CARB’s list and not from the retailer.
  • ACH attribution corrected. The record previously presented "4.8 Air changes per hour in a 465 sq. ft. room" inside quotation marks as a verbatim Honeywell statement. That string does not appear on the cited page. The page says "Independently tested and AHAM Verifide to circulate and filter room air up to 4.8 x per hour in a 465 sq. ft room" and footnotes it: "Air circulation depends on many factors, such as room size and configuration. There is no guarantee that all of the air in a room will pass through the filter." The record now carries the "up to" and the footnote. AHAM's directory publishes no air-changes-per-hour column for any model, so no AHAM entry certifies a delivered 4.8 ACH for this unit; 4.8 ACH is AHAM's convention for deriving the suggested room size, per its white paper.
  • CADR unit not stated in the source that carries the numbers. All 30 pages of the AHAM directory were searched for "cfm", "cubic feet" and "air change" — zero hits; its headers read only "Dust CADR", "Tobacco Smoke CADR", "Pollen CADR", "Room Size sq FT". The store page likewise prints "Tobacco Smoke: 300 / Dust: 320 / Pollen: 300" with no unit. The unit is therefore sourced separately to AHAM's white paper: "CADR is measured in cubic feet per minute or in cubic meters per hour."
  • Source provenance: honeywellstore.com is a licensed brand store, not a manufacturer page. Its footer reads "HoneywellStore.com is operated by eAccess Solutions, Inc., under license by Honeywell International Inc." It is not published by Honeywell International (whose own manual states it "makes no representation or warranties with respect to this product") nor by the manufacturer, Kaz USA, Inc. / Helen of Troy. Ten rows of the specification table below, plus the ozone, carbon-monoxide and 99.97% quotes, rest on that one page, and each is attributed to it rather than to “Honeywell”. The brand's own site (honeywellpluggedin.com) returns HTTP 403 and could not corroborate them.
  • "True HEPA" and the 99.97% at 0.3 microns figure are manufacturer/seller declarations, not independent certifications. There is no public HEPA certification available to a consumer brand. The figure is reproduced with its own qualifier ("from the air that passes through the filter") and attributed to the licensed store page, and is not asserted in our voice.
  • Manual contradicts itself on washability. A running header reads "MAINTAINING YOUR STAGE 1 WASHABLE PARTICLE PRE-FILTER" (recurring in the English, French and Spanish sections) and warranty clause D refers to "the washable Pre-Filter", while the maintenance note ("None of the filters are washable. Do not immerse them in water."), the manual FAQ ("No. Washing either filter will ruin it") and the store FAQ ("No. Washing the filters in your air purifier will ruin them") all state no filter is washable. Recorded as not washable on the strength of the explicit statements, with the conflict disclosed rather than silently resolved.
  • Comparative CADR ranking removed. The record previously said 300 cfm was "among the higher CADR figures in that directory for a consumer plug-in unit". No published AHAM ranking supports that phrasing, and a reader cannot check it against the cited document without re-parsing all 30 pages by coordinate, so the clause was deleted rather than restated with a derived percentile.
  • Wattage / power consumption: NOT RECORDED (null). Checked the licensed store's product page, the official HPA300-series manual PDF (P/N 31IMA100190), and the ENERGY STAR Certified Room Air Cleaners V3.0 dataset (resource gaa3-swy6 — a full pull of all 241 records returns 0 matches for HPA300). The earlier ENERGY STAR V2.0 dataset (jmck-i55n), which would likely hold this model's entry, now returns "You must be logged in to access this resource". Review sites quote mutually contradictory figures (17 W vs 42 W on the lowest speed; 76 W vs 131 W on Turbo) with no cited source, so none were used.
  • Noise in decibels: NOT RECORDED (null for both min and max). No dB figure appears on the product page or anywhere in the manual; the page offers only "At the lowest speed, this home air purifier is about as quiet as a whisper. At the highest speed, the portable air purifier is about as loud as a normal conversation." Review sites span roughly 39-70 dB with no shared measurement distance or methodology and no manufacturer citation.
  • Coverage figures conflict between channels. The licensed store states up to 4.8 ACH in 465 sq ft; the Amazon listing title for ASIN B00BWYO53G states "Cleans Up To 2250 Sq Ft in 1 Hour". That is arithmetically consistent at a different basis — 2,250 sq ft × 8 ft ÷ 60 min = 300 cfm, i.e. roughly one air change per hour — so it is not a false claim, simply not comparable to AHAM's room-size rating, which assumes 4.8 ACH. Recorded the 465 sq ft basis and stated the arithmetic neutrally rather than characterising the retail claim.
  • AHAM directory extraction caveat: the directory PDF's text layer misaligns model names against their data rows under standard layout extraction, which would wrongly attribute 140/125/140 cfm at 190 sq ft to the HPA300. Values here were taken by re-extracting the page with per-word x/y coordinates and matching the column header positions (Dust x≈205, Tobacco Smoke x≈267, Pollen x≈333, Room Size x≈399). The corrected HPA300 row reads Dust 320, Tobacco Smoke 300, Pollen 300, Room Size 465, Meet Ozone Limits Yes, Energy Star Yes.
  • CARB brand string corrected to the source's own rendering: "Honeywell™ by Kaz" (trademark symbol), not "Honeywell® by Kaz". The rest of the row is exact: True HEPA Allergen Remover | HPA300 | Mechanical | 2013-03-15 | G-13-035. Note that a page-summarising fetch of the CARB list wrongly reports the HPA300 as absent; the raw table contains it.
  • CARB lists related but distinct devices under different Executive Orders: HPA300V1-V4/COM under G-22-456 and HPA300VP under G-17-024. The certification recorded here (G-13-035) covers the base HPA300 only and must not be read across to those variants.
  • ENERGY STAR status: the manual and the product page both state the model earned the ENERGY STAR label, and AHAM's 2023 directory marks Energy Star "Yes". The model is absent from the current V3.0 certified dataset, which is consistent with certification under an earlier specification version rather than with a lack of certification. Recorded as manufacturer-stated, not as currently listed.
  • Filter life ranges differ between sources on the same site. The manual states HEPA every 12 months and pre-filter every 3 months; the FAQ block on the product page gives wider ranges (HEPA 6-12 months, pre-filter 1-3 months). filter_life_months records the manual's 12-month interval.
  • Child lock: no control-panel lockout is documented in the manual — the only panel function of that kind is the Dimmer, which adjusts LED brightness and explicitly does not power the unit off. Marked not_verified rather than asserted absent.
  • Product status: the manufacturer's own licensed store flags this item discontinued and no longer available for purchase there. Specifications reflect the last published documentation rather than a currently produced unit.
  • Honeywellpluggedin.com (the Helen of Troy brand site) returned HTTP 403 and could not be read; device.report's copy of the manual also returned 403. The official manual PDF hosted on honeywellstore.com was used instead and is the source for all manual-derived values.
  • The control-panel level labeled "Germ" is reported here as a fan-speed preset name printed on the unit. No germ-, virus- or illness-related performance claim is made or implied, and the manufacturer's own cold-and-flu wording for that preset is deliberately not reproduced. The only capture figure documented is 99.97% of particles 0.3 microns and larger from air passing through the filter, attributed to the seller.
  • No price or price range was recorded anywhere in this record, per Amazon Associates operating agreement constraints.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews