NestyFinds

Coway Airmega 400

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from manufacturer documentation, manuals and the AHAM Verifide directory · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Coway Airmega 400
508 ft² CADR 328 cfm CARB certified Filter ~12 mo 22–52 dB

A large twin-intake tower Coway rates at 328 cfm smoke CADR. Its headline 3,120 ft² is quoted at ONE air change per hour; at AHAM's 4.8 the comparable figure is about 508 ft².

Pros

  • CARB classifies the whole family Mechanical (G-26-006), so California's certifier did not identify an ionizing or ozone-generating stage. That is the cleanest answer to the ionizer question of any unit on this site.
  • The pre-filters are washable, so the stage that loads fastest costs nothing to maintain — on a machine whose cartridges are among the larger purchases in this catalogue, that matters.
  • 22–52 dB(A) at 66 W maximum, published, along with dimensions and weight. Several rivals here publish none of that.
  • Auto, Eco and Sleep modes driven by a real particle sensor, without requiring an app or an account to work.

Cons

  • ⚠️ The headline 3,120 ft² is quoted at ONE air change per hour. At AHAM's 4.8 convention the comparable figure is about 508 ft² — the same machine, six times smaller on paper. Coway publishes 1 and 2 ACH and nothing at 4.8.
  • ⚠️ The CADR is Coway's own. No Coway model appears in AHAM's directory — not in the printed 2023 edition and not in the live directory, which returns zero results for the brand — so no third party has measured what this machine delivers.
  • Every service costs two Max2 filters AND two pre-filters, and the pre-filter is sold one per order. Coway's own instruction is to enter 2 in the quantity box.
  • ⚠️ Coway states the filter life differently in two places: "Filter Life Expectancy is 12 Months" on the filter set page, and "lasts up to 6 - 12 months" on the purifier page. Same manufacturer, same part, two answers.
  • No Wi-Fi or app on the 400. That is the 400S, which is a different model number and a different CARB row.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighed independent measurement above manufacturer claims, and Coway is absent from the AHAM directory entirely, so the headline CADR is unverified. The coverage claim is the most generously stated in this catalogue: 3,120 ft² at one air change per hour, with no figure published at AHAM's 4.8. What it gains back is a CARB Mechanical classification across all four SKUs, published noise, wattage, dimensions and weight, and washable pre-filters. Against it also: two filters and two pre-filters per service, the pre-filter sold singly, and Coway stating filter life as 12 months on one page and 6-12 on another.

Verdict

The Airmega 400 is a well-built large-room machine with the clearest ionizer answer on this site — CARB classifies all four SKUs Mechanical, so California's certifier found nothing capable of generating ozone. It publishes noise, wattage, dimensions and weight, and its pre-filters are washable. The problem is the number everyone quotes. Coway's 3,120 ft² is at one air change per hour, and it publishes nothing at AHAM's 4.8 convention; run its own CADR through AHAM's own arithmetic and you get about 508 ft². That is still a large room, and it is six times less than the box implies. Add that the CADR itself is Coway's own — no Coway model appears in the AHAM directory at all — and this is a machine you buy on its build and its certification rather than on measured performance.

Check current price for the Coway Airmega 400 on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • A large room of roughly 500 sq ft at a proper 4.8 air changes — read that as the real figure rather than the number on the box.
  • Anyone who specifically wants a purely mechanical machine: the CARB Mechanical classification across all four SKUs is the strongest evidence available.
  • People who will wash the pre-filters, which is where this design pays back.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone buying on the 3,120 ft² figure. At the air-change rate that makes purifiers comparable this is a ~508 ft² machine, and buying it for a 3,000 ft² home will disappoint.
  • Anyone who wants the headline performance independently measured — Coway is absent from the AHAM directory entirely.
  • Anyone who wants app control: that is the 400S.

Specifications

How this coverage figure is stated

⚠️ THIS IS THE NUMBER TO READ CAREFULLY ON THIS UNIT, and we have not used Coway's headline.

Coway publishes two bases, and neither is the one that makes purifiers comparable: "1 air change/hour 3,120 ft²" and "2 air changes/hour 1,560 ft²". AHAM's convention is 4.8 air changes an hour, and Coway does not publish a figure at it.

The 508 ft² above is AHAM's own arithmetic applied to Coway's own CADR: smoke CADR x 1.55, or 328 x 1.55 = 508. That is the figure to use when comparing this machine against anything else on this site. The 3,120 ft² on the box is the same machine measured six times more generously.

The input is still Coway's own CADR, not a measured one — see below.

Always compare two purifiers at the same air-change rate; manufacturers pick different ones and the headline square footage is not otherwise comparable.

Coway Airmega 400 — documented specifications
CADR (manufacturer-stated) 328 smoke / 328 dust / 400 pollen Coway's own figures; no AHAM entry found
Coverage at AHAM's 4.8 basis About 508 ft², calculated as 328 x 1.55 Coway does not publish a figure at this basis
CARB Certified, device type Mechanical, notified 2026-01-13, executive order G-26-006
Noise 22–52 dB(A)
Maximum power 66 W
Filters per service TWO Max2 filters and TWO pre-filters one of each per side
The full record: 5 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
Coverage as Coway states it 3,120 ft² at 1 air change/hour; 1,560 ft² at 2 air changes/hour
Dimensions 14.8 x 22.8 x 14.8 in
Weight 24.7 lb
AHAM Verifide No Coway model appears in the October 2023 AHAM directory
Smart control None on the 400. Wi-Fi and app control are the 400S
6 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • THE 508 SQ FT COVERAGE FIGURE IS OUR CALCULATION, NOT COWAY'S. It applies AHAM's published rule (smoke CADR x 1.55) to Coway's own stated CADR of 328, so that this unit can be compared with the AHAM-listed machines on this site. Coway publishes 3,120 ft² at 1 ACH and 1,560 ft² at 2 ACH and nothing at 4.8. The arithmetic is ours; the input is Coway's and is not independently measured.
  • NO COWAY MODEL APPEARS IN AHAM'S DIRECTORY, AND WE HAVE NOW CHECKED BOTH VERSIONS OF IT. We searched the printed October 2023 edition for "Coway" and "Airmega" and found nothing, and on 14 September 2026 we searched the live directory at ahamdir.com for "Coway", which returns Total Items: 0 against a catalogue of 727 certified models. This is a verified absence from the certification programme, not a gap in our reading. Coway's figures may still be accurate; they are simply not third-party verified.
  • COWAY DOES NOT STATE THE CADR UNITS on the page we read; we have recorded them as cfm because that is the unit AHAM's rule assumes and the figures are consistent with it.
  • COWAY CONTRADICTS ITSELF ON FILTER LIFE: 12 months on the filter set page, "up to 6 - 12 months" on the purifier page. We record 12 and state the conflict rather than picking one silently.
  • COWAY'S SUPPORT HELP CENTRE RETURNED HTTP 403 on 14-sep-2026, so nothing here comes from its support articles.
  • THE CARB ROWS ARE DATED 2026-01-13, which is recent. Older Airmega 400 certifications may exist under other executive orders; we report the rows the current list carries.

Our calculation, not the manufacturer’s

What 328 cfm of smoke CADR actually covers

Air changesWhen you want this rateRoom it suits
4.8×/hourWildfire smoke, allergy season, a room you are sensitive in513 ft²
4×/hourThe rate most allergy guidance assumes615 ft²
2×/hourGeneral freshening in a room without a specific problem1230 ft²

Worked from the CDC/NIOSH relation air changes = (CADR × 60) ÷ (area × ceiling height), assuming an 8 ft ceiling. Change the ceiling height and these numbers change. AHAM’s own consumer rule — a smoke CADR of at least two-thirds of the room’s area — puts the ceiling for this unit at about 492 ft², which is the same arithmetic at roughly five air changes an hour. This CADR is the manufacturer’s own figure, not an AHAM Verifide measurement, so treat it as a claim rather than a verified result.

You can check this at home. In a closed room of the size in the first row, PM2.5 should halve about every nine minutes at top speed once its source stops. A monitor shows whether this unit manages that in your home. How to run the test

Ionizer and ozone

None identified by California's certifier. CARB's complete certified list carries four rows for this family, all Mechanical:

· Coway | Airmega 400(G) | AP-2015F(G) | Mechanical | 2026-01-13 | G-26-006 · Coway | Airmega 400(W) | AP-2015F(W) | Mechanical | 2026-01-13 | G-26-006 · Coway | Airmega 400S(G) | AP-2015E(G) | Mechanical | 2026-01-13 | G-26-006 · Coway | Airmega 400S(W) | AP-2015E(W) | Mechanical | 2026-01-13 | G-26-006

Under California's regime only ELECTRONIC air cleaners are tested against the ozone emission limit, because only they have a component capable of producing one. A Mechanical classification means CARB did not identify an ion- or ozone-generating stage. Coway's product page does not mention an ionizer, UV lamp or plasma stage either.

That is a real point of difference from the Blueair units on this site, which are classified Electronic because HEPASilent charges particles electrostatically. If you want filtration and nothing else, this machine is on the right side of that line.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
Particle and carbon filtration Two Max2 filters, pre-installed Included
Washable pre-filters Two, one per side Included
Replacement filter set Airmega 400/400S Max2 Filter Set — two filters, sold separately Sold separately
Replacement pre-filters Sold separately AND singly; the machine needs two Sold separately
Air quality sensor with Auto mode Built in Included
Wi-Fi and app control Not on the 400 — that is the 400S Not verified
Independently measured CADR Not available — no AHAM entry found Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

Replacement filter

Full filter guide

Coway Airmega 400 Max2 filter set

Part 3104756 / AP-2015-FP / ⚠️ "Max2" IS A FAMILY NAME, NOT A PART. Coway sells an Airmega 250 Max2 filter and an Airmega Icon Max2 filter as separate products. Searching for "Max2" on its own will show you filters for machines that are not yours. · "Filter Life Expectancy is 12 Months", per Coway's product page for the set. Coway does not publish an hours-per-day assumption behind that figure on this page, so it cannot be scaled arithmetically to your own use. Note also that the interval applies to the Max2 element; the pre-filter is a separate part with its own maintenance, and being washable it is the one that costs nothing to look after.

Which filter fits

How we researched this

Checked against the AHAM Verifide directory, CARB's certified air-cleaner list and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this unit. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 6 notes
  • THE 508 SQ FT COVERAGE FIGURE IS OUR CALCULATION, NOT COWAY'S. It applies AHAM's published rule (smoke CADR x 1.55) to Coway's own stated CADR of 328, so that this unit can be compared with the AHAM-listed machines on this site. Coway publishes 3,120 ft² at 1 ACH and 1,560 ft² at 2 ACH and nothing at 4.8. The arithmetic is ours; the input is Coway's and is not independently measured.
  • NO COWAY MODEL APPEARS IN AHAM'S DIRECTORY, AND WE HAVE NOW CHECKED BOTH VERSIONS OF IT. We searched the printed October 2023 edition for "Coway" and "Airmega" and found nothing, and on 14 September 2026 we searched the live directory at ahamdir.com for "Coway", which returns Total Items: 0 against a catalogue of 727 certified models. This is a verified absence from the certification programme, not a gap in our reading. Coway's figures may still be accurate; they are simply not third-party verified.
  • COWAY DOES NOT STATE THE CADR UNITS on the page we read; we have recorded them as cfm because that is the unit AHAM's rule assumes and the figures are consistent with it.
  • COWAY CONTRADICTS ITSELF ON FILTER LIFE: 12 months on the filter set page, "up to 6 - 12 months" on the purifier page. We record 12 and state the conflict rather than picking one silently.
  • COWAY'S SUPPORT HELP CENTRE RETURNED HTTP 403 on 14-sep-2026, so nothing here comes from its support articles.
  • THE CARB ROWS ARE DATED 2026-01-13, which is recent. Older Airmega 400 certifications may exist under other executive orders; we report the rows the current list carries.

Sources consulted

Other purifiers we have researched

All reviews