NestyFinds

Temtop M2000 2nd Generation

By the NestyFinds editorial team · Researched from South Coast AQMD's AQ-SPEC sensor evaluations and manufacturer documentation · not bench-tested · Reviewed:

Temtop M2000 2nd Generation
Model M2000 2nd AQ-SPEC tested PM2.5PM10CO2Formaldehyde (HCHO)TemperatureHumidity

A handheld meter for PM2.5, PM10, CO2, formaldehyde, temperature and humidity that exports its readings over USB. South Coast AQMD's AQ-SPEC program tested its PM2.5 readings outdoors and in a chamber against reference instruments.

Pros

  • In AQ-SPEC's chamber its PM2.5 readings tracked the reference with R² above 0.99, with high precision and low variation between the three units tested.
  • Temtop names each sensor and publishes a stated accuracy for every pollutant reading, including NDIR CO2 at ±50 ppm plus 5%.
  • Exports readings over USB, so a purifier test can be graphed rather than timed by eye.
  • Adds formaldehyde to the usual PM2.5, PM10, CO2, temperature and humidity.

Cons

  • Reads high: 30–45% above the reference at every chamber level AQ-SPEC tested, beyond Temtop's own ±10% tolerance above 100 µg/m³.
  • Outdoors its PM2.5 tracking was looser (R² 0.77–0.82), and PM10 tracked weakly (R² 0.17–0.28).
  • Temtop lists no Wi-Fi or phone app for this model; readings stay on the device until you export them.
  • Battery lasts 6–8 hours per charge, so an overnight log needs USB power.

Our editorial rating, not a lab measurement. Weighted on AQ-SPEC's PM2.5 results in the field and the chamber, whether the tested model is the one on sale, and documented sensor types and tolerances. Held back by readings beyond Temtop's own stated tolerance, looser outdoor tracking and no phone connection.

Verdict

The M2000 2nd Generation suits someone who wants to document a purifier test: it exports its readings, names its sensors, and tracked AQ-SPEC's chamber reference with R² above 0.99. Its PM2.5 figures ran 30–45% high in that testing, so compare its readings with each other rather than with an outdoor map.

Check current price for the Temtop M2000 2nd Generation on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Price, seller and package contents change. Check the variant on Amazon before you buy.

Using it to check a purifier

The full test

It exports its readings over USB, so you can graph a purifier test afterwards instead of timing it by eye. AQ-SPEC logged it at one-minute resolution, fine for a fall that halves in about nine minutes.

Its PM2.5 readings ran 30–45% high in the chamber. An error of roughly constant proportion leaves the halving time intact, so the test still works; only the absolute numbers are inflated.

In the chamber the units averaged 10.9, 19.7, 63.7, 161.4 and 379.2 µg/m³ while the reference read 8.4, 13.7, 45.3, 117.7 and 261.5.

Is it the right one for you?

Who it's for

  • You want to log a purifier test and graph it on a computer.
  • You want CO2 and formaldehyde readings from sensors whose type and stated accuracy are published.
  • You want one meter to carry from room to room.

Who should skip it

  • You want readings and alerts on your phone: Temtop lists no Wi-Fi for this model.
  • You want PM2.5 numbers that match an outdoor air-quality map at face value.

What it measures

Temtop M2000 2nd Generation — readings as Temtop documents them
Reading Range Sensor Stated accuracy
PM2.5 0–999 µg/m³ Laser particle sensor ±10 µg/m³ up to 100 µg/m³; ±10% above
PM10 0–999 µg/m³ Laser particle sensor ±15 µg/m³ up to 100 µg/m³; ±15% above
CO2 0–5,000 ppm NDIR (SenseAir sensor) ±50 ppm plus 5% of reading
Formaldehyde (HCHO) 0–2 mg/m³ Dart sensor ±0.03 mg/m³ up to 0.3 mg/m³; ±10% above
Temperature 0–50 °C Sensirion sensor None published
Humidity 0–90% RH Sensirion sensor None published

AQ-SPEC evaluated the particle readings only. Anything else in this table is Temtop’s own statement, and a missing tolerance means Temtop does not publish one.

Specifications

Temtop M2000 2nd Generation — documented specifications
PM2.5 field agreement (AQ-SPEC) R² 0.77–0.82 against a reference monitor outdoors
PM2.5 chamber agreement (AQ-SPEC) R² above 0.99; reads 30–45% high
Unit-to-unit variation (AQ-SPEC) Low AQ-SPEC gives no percentage
PM10 field agreement (AQ-SPEC) R² 0.17–0.28 weak
Measures PM2.5, PM10, CO2, formaldehyde, temperature, humidity
Data Export over USB
The full record: 10 more documented specifications — nothing is removed, it is just not what decides
PM2.5 stated accuracy ±10 µg/m³ up to 100 µg/m³; ±10% above
CO2 sensor NDIR (SenseAir), 0–5,000 ppm, ±50 ppm plus 5%
Formaldehyde (HCHO) 0–2 mg/m³; ±0.03 mg/m³ up to 0.3
PM2.5 and PM10 range 0–999 µg/m³ in 0.1 µg/m³ steps
Temperature and humidity range 0–50 °C; 0–90% RH
Alerts Buzzer or indicator when levels run high
Battery 3,000 mAh; 6–8 hours per charge
Power input DC 5 V, 1 A
Size 8.8 × 2.8 × 1.4 in
Warranty 1 year
5 things we could not verify — we leave these blank rather than estimate them
  • AQ-SPEC's report for this model does not state the chamber test date or give a fitted slope and intercept, so the offset at low readings is unknown.
  • AQ-SPEC evaluated particle readings only; CO2, formaldehyde, temperature and humidity were not part of its test.
  • The evaluation dates from 2020. Temtop still sells the model under the same name, and we found no notice of a sensor change — which is not proof there was none.
  • Temtop does not publish the box contents on its product page.
  • The field results for this model and for other monitors come from different seasons and test rounds, so compare them loosely.

Independent results come from AQ-SPEC Laboratory Evaluation: Elitech Temtop M2000 2nd Generation. Temtop's US store still sells the model under the name AQ-SPEC tested, M2000 2nd Generation, and links AQ-SPEC's report from that product page. The Amazon listing we link names the M2000 2nd variant and is sold by Elitech Technology.

What you actually get

What the linked package includes
Capability What it needs Status
On-screen PM2.5, PM10, CO2, HCHO, temperature, humidity — Included
Data export USB connection to a computer Included
Rechargeable battery — Included
Wi-Fi or phone app None listed in Temtop's specifications Not verified
Cable and charger in the box Box contents not published Not verified

Package contents vary by variant and seller. Check what is in the box on the Amazon listing before you buy. “Not verified” means the manufacturer does not document it either way — not that it is missing. “Not offered” is the other thing: the manufacturer does document it, and the answer is that this model does not have it.

How we researched this

Checked against South Coast AQMD's AQ-SPEC sensor evaluations and the manufacturer's own pages. We did not test this monitor. Nothing here is a measurement of ours: every figure is either documented by the manufacturer or published by an independent standards or testing body, and where the two disagree this page says so.

Not verified for this model — 5 notes
  • AQ-SPEC's report for this model does not state the chamber test date or give a fitted slope and intercept, so the offset at low readings is unknown.
  • AQ-SPEC evaluated particle readings only; CO2, formaldehyde, temperature and humidity were not part of its test.
  • The evaluation dates from 2020. Temtop still sells the model under the same name, and we found no notice of a sensor change — which is not proof there was none.
  • Temtop does not publish the box contents on its product page.
  • The field results for this model and for other monitors come from different seasons and test rounds, so compare them loosely.

Sources consulted

Other tested monitors

All monitors